“Wisdom Is The Reward You Get For A Lifetime Of Listening When You’d Have Preferred To Talk!” – Staff Briefings Update!

……….As I’d mentioned in the update sent out yesterday, I’m going to run regular briefing sessions for staff. It will give me a chance to update you on key messages, to share my thoughts on the strategic issues and the direction of our improvement work, and to generally be able to hear your views and feedback on both the day to day and the longer term issues we are all engaged with.

Sutton Life Centre
Sutton Life Centre

The first three sessions will be at Sutton Life Centre on Monday March 11th, Friday March 15th, and Tuesday March 26th. Each of the three briefing sessions start at 3:15 and will run till 4:30. On each occasion, if any of you attending the briefing are interested in taking a tour of the Life Centre facilities, this will be available at the end of the session (I’ve been myself and think it’s a resource of great potential – well worth a look).

I want to stress that I only expect you to attend ONE of the three sessions! Vain and egotistical I might be, but even I wouldn’t inflict listening to me more than once, in a short space of time, on anybody! There are three sessions simply to give you some flexibility on attending and to try and accommodate numbers of staff in our division.

Numbers for the sessions are of course limited by the venue itself, so I’d be grateful if you could let Hilary know by e-mail (Hilary.Tarr@sutton.gov.uk) , which session you plan to attend – that way we can manage the numbers across the three sessions.

Cafe area at Life Centre - if lots are early and I have to fulfill my pledge on coffee purchasing, you may see a grown Scotsman cry!
Cafe area at Life Centre – if lots are early and I have to fulfill my pledge on coffee purchasing, you may see a grown Scotsman cry!

In the current financial climate, I don’t have the budget to fund refreshments – however there’s a really good cafe within the Life Centre itself where you can get coffee or tea before we start. If you are a little early and in the queue at the same time as me though, I will buy you a coffee! (how’s that for an incentive to be a little early!)

Artists Impression Of Public Clamour For A Place At One Of Col's Briefings!
Artists Impression Of Public Clamour For A Place At One Of Col’s Briefings!

For these first sessions at least one of the Heads of Service will be at each briefing. In future all the Heads of Service will be at every briefing (when I said I wouldn’t inflict listening to me more than once in a short time frame on anybody, I obviously didn’t mean those who HAVE to listen to me! – Lucky Claudette, Jackie and Nigel I hear you say!?!)

So, I look forward to seeing you at one of the briefings during March, if I don’t get the opportunity to see you before. If you are one of the staff going off on leave today, coinciding with all or part of the school holidays, I wish you an enjoyable and relaxing break.

Lastly, don’t forget to sign up to follow on Twitter @EdnEarl if you want to pick up the more frequent updates I’ve started. Please leave a comment if you are inclined – I will respond – and if you haven’t yet done so, please click the “follow” button on the side bar so that you get sent these updates automatically.

Have a good weekend

Col

Leave a Reply

