The Long Awaited, Much Heralded, Oft Referenced, Highly Anticipated, Greatly Desired, Nervously-With-Baited-Breath-Awaited, Arrival Of……

……….Hopefully that’s enough of a big – build – up!!!!!!

Read on and try not to feel like this!
Read on and try not to feel like this!

Now for the let down bit! All the big-build-up was leading to was an update that  I’ve finally got around to getting some sections of our Integrated Services for Young People intranet set up for all of you to access info and other stuff from me!!

Louise in the Youth Service has got every thing set up for an intranet forum where you can access documents, plans and other stuff I will post there – and again it’s intended to be interactive.

To access it for the first time you’ll have to go to http://www.suttonyouth.org/staff/  When you first go in you’ll need to register using the button at the top right of the screen. You’ll need to provide a username and a password. The sytem will let Louise know you’ve registered and she’ll then approve your registration and the system will send you a confirmation e-mail. Once you’ve got that you’re good to go. The home screen looks like this

Capture

Once you’ve gone into the intranet site, you’ll find the “Board Index” page. It’s divided into sections and Louise has set me up to post info to some of those sections – you’ll find them under the headings “The Boss’s News”, “The Boss’s Stuff”, “The Boss’s Chat” and “The Boss’s Links”

CaptureI know these things take time to get used to – and indeed that some of you might not really like this sort of thing – it’s not compulsory of course! But I hope you’ll use it as I think it’ll be a quick and effective way of not only getting you further info but also a way of providing easy access to documents, presentations and the like that you might be interested in looking at from time to time!

Support Functions Review

I’ve got a Support Function Project Board meeting later today. I will send an updatefrom that in due course. In the interim though, as I have mentioned in recent briefings, please respond to the consultation about the posts in scope as and where it is relevant, and if you think it is necessary, feel free to copy me in on any issues or points you think I need to be aweare of.

A Dad’s Army Moment……..

Dads Army……Just wanted to share this! On my journey in this morning a young man phoned in to what I assume was his boss – here is the essence of what he said

“Hi! It’s X. You’ll never guess what I’ve done – I was so nervous about today being my first day in charge of the store that I’ve come in and left the keys for opening up at home! Can you believe that?! What an idiot! I’m not panicking though! I was going to go home and get them – it’s just that I …..well….I live out in Epsom and I wondered if anybody else has a set? She does – great! No, it’s not a problem for me to go pick them up from her – where does she live – Battersea? Hang on I’ll check……”

Young man to me: “Does this train go to Battersea?”

Me: “No!”

Young man to phone: “Oh this is a disaster! Looks like I’m on the wrong train for Battersea but I’ll get off and go get the correct train and get the keys from her! Sorry about this!”

Young man stands up and moves to doors of train. Doors however close and train moves away before he gets off!!!

Panic stricken he gets back on his phone “Hello? You’ll never guess what’s happened now? You’ll probably think this is so funny but the train left Victoria before I could get off! (At this point it’s clear from the expression on his face that the person at the other end of the phone isn’t finding this in the least funny!). I don’t know what to do! What time do the rest of the staff arrive for work? As early as that?! I’m not sure what to do……” At this point he looks at me……..

Me: “You’ll have to get off at Clapham and take a train back to Battersea”

Young Man to phone: “I’ll get off at Clapham then go back to Battersea, get the shop keys and then get back to Victoria. When do I have to be there? 8:30? At the latest? (this was 7:45!) Oh I’ll make that easily. No don’t worry I’ll make it. I know it’s importnat. I’ll make it! Bye”

From then on he stood by the doors waiting desperately for Clapham to arrive! I’ve never seen anybody so keen to get to Clapham Junction. Last I saw of him he went charging off down the stairs at Clapham.

He wasn’t dressed like Corporal Jones, he wasn’t the age of Corporal Jones and he didn’t look like like Corporal Jones – but he definitely sounded like Corporal Jones!

Leave a Reply

