Unsquashing A Rumour And Unringing A Bell!

Somebody once said “Trying to unsquash a rumour is like trying to unring a bell!”

Well I’m about to try and do it anyway! A number of you may be aware of the story below which appeared this week in the Guardian and which suggested a considerable number of managers are all leaving the Council, including myself.

Guardian

I know that some of you have enquired whether or not this story is correct so I’ve decided to try and clarify for all of you at the same time. The story is incorrect. I think it is based on the journalist’s interpretation of what technically happens when jobs are merged. Where there are two job descriptions combined, technically, the old separate job descriptions no longer exist. So in this case once the JD’s for my current role and the other Exec Head role in CYPLD are merged, technically my post ceases to exist. It doesn’t however automatically follow that I will be leaving.  In the weeks ahead, the Council will go through due process to decide how they appoint to that merged job description and to any other positions where the job description has been changed. Once that is complete I will let you know.

But in the interim I wanted to clarify that in the light of the press story. I have no plans to go anywhere and at the moment I am focused as you would expect on our priorities, and of course on getting to know the newer areas of CYPLD which have been integrated into our division following the letter about staff changes which you will all have received from Tolis earlier this week!

I won’t tempt fate by assuming the questions were prompted by concern that I might be moving on (!!) and saying that my intention is to “reassure” all of you – but I hope it at least clarifies things and puts the press story into context for you.

So to paraphrase Mark Twain, “Reports of my demise have been greatly exaggerated!”

 

3 thoughts on “Unsquashing A Rumour And Unringing A Bell!”

  1. Hi Colin, Can I ask if the letter about staff changes is due to come out to Children’s Centres as we have yet to be informed of staff changes via a letter. Amanda Hodson Beddington Park Primary Children’s Centre

    1. Amanda. It should have done so my apologies that it didn’t. I have asked admin team to send out today. Thanks for making me aware of this.

Leave a Reply

